South Carolina’s motorcycle helmet law is not as some of the helmet laws in the United States. This is because only those who are under the age of 21 need to wear a helmet when operating a motorcycle.
More specifically, the law states that it is unlawful for anyone under the age of 21 to ride a motorcycle unless they are wearing a helmet. The helmet must have been approved by South Carolina’s Department of Public Safety. The law also goes on to say that the helmet must be reflectorized on each side, and there must also be a chin or neck strap.
Section 56-5-3660 of South Carolina’s motorcycle helmet law includes more information about the helmet law. You can also get more safety tips from ‘Motorcycles in South Carolina’ which has been written by the Department of Public Safety.
Let’s imagine that you are more than 21 years old and you decide not to wear a helmet when traveling on a motorcycle. Let’s also imagine that you are involved in a traffic accident in the state of South Carolina, and it was the fault of another driver. Even though you did not have to wear a helmet by law, you could still find that any personal injury case you bring about could be affected. This is because if your case ends up in trial a jury could determine that you were negligent because you were not wearing a motorcycle helmet. This is because South Carolina uses a comparative negligence law.
This law states that if you are found 20% responsible for the injuries caused in the accident, for example, you may lose 20% of any compensation you could receive. If your personal injury claim was worth $30,000, for example, you are likely to receive just $24,000, which is 20% less than you would have received if you had been wearing a helmet.
If you are currently suffering from a personal injury and are unable to read ‘South Carolina’s Motorcycle Helmet Law’ please watch our Injury Pedia video so you can gain the Personal Injury Information and Answers you are seeking.