You’re caught in an accident and have sustained physical injuries caused by another party in Thornton Colorado. Referencing from Cornell Law School’s Legal Information Institute, the legal definition of “personal injury” is causing physical harms to a normal human’s body. Fleshly damages can range from death, psychological sufferings, emotional distresses and any other wounds.
In this instance, does the above stated situation apply to you? Are you in dire need for personal injury legal help? If the answer is yes, it will be good to know that you have lawful rights in this circumstance. The grounds where you can file your claims will be based on the Colorado personal injury law as a victim.
Furthermore, on a case by case basis, compensation for treatment and damages can be obtained.
If you’re strapped with burning questions and urgently require personal injury legal help in Thornton Colorado, please fill out this form immediately.
Disclaimer: The following information is indicated to just serve as a guide for Thornton Colorado accident cases. For proper legal advice particular to your personal injury case, kindly seek help here.
What can you do when faced with the following common categories of personal injuries?
a. Injured on the Job
When it comes to job injuries, Colorado has a standard structure to compensate on-the-job physical hurts. With this system, you can’t sue the employer but will be entitled to adequate recovery materials arising from your injury. Typically, you don’t require a lawyer for this.
Your compensated areas can include medical costs, work loss time periods and body disability damages. Upon encountering personal harms, you’ll need to immediately turn to a licensed medical practitioner of your choice or from your organization’s nominated list. Additionally, to qualify for personal injury claims, it is a legal requirement to notify your employer in writing within 4 days.
If you report the situation after 4 days, you can stand to lose reimbursement amounts from your employer. For all personal injury reports’ duration, it will be best to check the terms listed in the company’s policy guidebook.
So, to what extent can you be repaid for the losses you encountered due to personal injury at work? Referring to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, it is calculated based on the average weekly wage (AWW) and taking two-thirds from it. The sum is derived from the date of your personal injury written notification to your employer.
AWW financials can comprise of annual wages, housing monetary matters, your employee insurance plan to tips and overtime salary. Also, please be sure that your company files to the firm’s insurer within 10 days after your report. In a state where your employer fails to do so, you’ll have 2 years to file on your own.
To submit personally, you’ll need to complete the Workers' Claim for Compensation form and keep a copy for yourself. Send the completed form to the division at Colorado Department of Labor and Employment at:
Division of Workers’ Compensation
633 17th Street, Suite 400
Denver, CO 80202-3660
When your submission is received, the division will assess and follow up with you from then onwards.
b. Injuries from Car, Motorcycle, Commercial Vehicle, Pedestrians and Bicycle Accidents
Colorado Department of Transportation 2019 report details out that vehicle accidents have risen by 9.8% in 5 years from 2013 to 2017. Of course, it’s never pleasant to be caught with injuries due to vehicle collision whether you’re driving, a pedestrian or a cyclist. Knowing the steps and legal rights can really support you through such a crisis.
Motor vehicle smashes can range from motorcycles, personal motor cars, and small to large commercial vehicles. After encountering the traffic accident, there are steps and legal selections you have to claim from the responsible driver. Depending on the vehicle type, insurance coverage and compensations can vary.
The following details out the steps to do when and after an accident collision at Thornton Colorado occurs:
Step 1. Depending on severity of personal injuries sustained, contact the ambulance immediately. Additionally, gather as much evidence as you can. This can include:
- Photographs of the collision scene showing vehicle numbers, damages, road skid marks and area view containing the accident
- Date, time and location of the accident
- Grab video footages of cameras
Step 2. Make a report to the nearest Colorado police within 24 hours of the accident. Your police report should include as many details as possible. This document serves as a tool for legal and insurance support.
Collision circumstances can comprise of the following and should enter the statement:
- Government property damages
- Collision hit-and-run situation
- Injuries acquired that urgently need hospital support
Step 3. Obtain details of the parties involved directly or indirectly related to the accident. These people can encompass pedestrians, witnesses, cyclists and passengers. Details to note can include full name, identity details, home address, contact number, email and insurance information.
Last but not last, here’s a list of additional critical points to consider:
1. Take photographs straightaway after the accident without moving anything from the scene
2. Only head to authorised vehicle repair companies that your insurer recognizes
3. Contact and notify your insurer for support immediately within 24 hours
4. To better streamline your personal injury claims and processes, you can fill up this form and have a personal injury lawyer to support you.
c. Slip and Fall Injuries On Premise Situations
When you’re on a property (business-related or another party’s home), the owner is required by law to have reasonable safety standards. In cases where anyone is injured due to the premise’s compromised safety standards, the situation shall be assessed by the Colorado court. Depending on the victim’s role at the location, such as whether the latter is a trespasser, on premise for recreational purposes and so on, the Court will rule out accordingly.
In short, if you slip and fall on someone’s property, the Colorado law can help you get financial remedy for your personal injury treatment. Unfortunately, if you’re a trespasser breaking the law, that can have an alternative outcome for you.
Here’s a list of things to do when you’re caught in a slip and fall case with injuries:
1. Inspect and take photographs of the scene that cause your body harms
2. Identify witnesses around, get their full name, home addresses, and identity records
3. Lodge an official report if the accident happened on a business ground
4. Head to a licensed medical practitioner and obtain a medical report with the costs involved
5. Seek for a qualified personal injury attorney support
Summary of Injury Support Resources in Thornton Colorado
To better support you when you are faced with a personal injury emergency or situation at Thornton Colorado, here’s a list of featured support areas and contact numbers.
|Thornton Colorado Police||Thornton Police Department||Emergency:
9551 Civic Center Dr, Thornton, CO 80229, United States
|Tow Companies||Dick’s Towing||(720) 378-4204|
|Acceler8 towing||(720) 938-1779|
|Marv’s Quality Towing||(720) 547-3872|
|The Towing Company||(720) 574-1249|
|Brighton Auto Repair||(720) 408-3455|
|Ambulance Services||Medical Transport Services||(727) 201-1717|
|City of Thornton Colorado, Fire Department||Thornton Fire Department||Emergency:
9500 Civic Center Drive
Thornton, CO 80229
|Medical Emergency||North Suburban Medical Center||(303) 223-6304
9191 Grant St
Thornton, CO 80229
|Thornton Parkway||(720) 872-0399
550 Thornton Pkwy
Thornton, CO 80229
|NextCare Urgent Care: Thornton||(303) 756-3499
9720 Grant St
Thornton, CO 80229