While Pennsylvania has its own motorcycle helmet law, it is not the same law as seen in the states that use the universal motorcycle helmet law. In Pennsylvania, only those who are under 21 years of age or are quite inexperienced by law have to wear a helmet.
Those who do not need to wear a motorcycle helmet by law are:
- Those who are more than 21 years of age.
- Those who have ridden a motorcycle for a least 2 years.
- Anyone who is operating or riding as a passenger on a 3-wheeled motorcycle that has an enclosed cab.
- Anyone who is more than 21 years of age and has taken part in a motorcycle rider safety course that the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or Pennsylvania Department of Transportation approve of.
- Passengers who are over 21 years of age who are traveling on a motorcycle that is being operated by anyone who meets the above criteria.
Title 75, section 3525 of Pennsylvania’s motorcycle helmet law has more information on this.
If you were not wearing a motorcycle helmet and you were involved in an accident in Pennsylvania, any personal injury claim that you file could be affected. This is because if your case ends up going to trial a jury may find you negligent as you failed to wear a motorcycle helmet. What this means for you is that any compensation that you could have received from the at-fault driver may be reduced.
If you are currently suffering from a personal injury and are unable to read ‘Pennsylvania’s Motorcycle Helmet Law’ please watch our Injury Pedia video so you can gain the Personal Injury Information and Answers you are seeking.