Oklahoma’s motorcycle helmet law states that only those under 18 years of age need to wear a helmet when they are riding or traveling as a passengers on a motorcycle. Section 47-12-609 of the Oklahoma Statutes states that no-one under 18 years of age should operate or ride a motorcycle unless they are wearing a helmet that complies with the standards set out by the federal safety regulation.
If you require more information please read Oklahoma’s Department of Public Safety’s motorcycle operator manual.
Now let’s imagine you’re under 18 years old and you’ve decided not to wear a helmet. Let’s also imagine that you’ve been involved in a traffic accident that was the fault of another driver. If you choose to file a personal injury claim you may not get as much compensation as you’d hoped. This is particularly the case if you’re looking to claim compensation for any head injuries you sustained in the accident.
The reason for this is because Oklahoma has a comparative fault rule. This rule is used when the injured person is thought to share some of the fault for their injuries.
The jury may decide that you were negligent as a reasonable person would have worn a helmet. The jury may also decide you were negligent even if you were over 18 years old and you were not required to wear a motorcycle helmet.
Thanks to the comparative fault rule, any compensation you receive will be reduced by the amount of blame the jury has assigned you. This means that if the jury decides you are 15% responsible for your accident, for example, your compensation will be reduced by 15%. This means that in a $20,000 case, you may only receive $17,000.
If you are currently suffering from a personal injury and are unable to read ‘Oklahoma’s Motorcycle Helmet Law’ please watch our Injury Pedia video so you can gain the Personal Injury Information and Answers you are seeking.