Wearing a motorcycle helmet is not mandatory for everyone in Michigan, it is only mandatory for those who are under 21 years old. Both passengers and the operators of a motorcycle who are under 21 have to wear a helmet.
Anyone who is at 21 years old can ride a motorcycle without wearing a helmet if they have a motorcycle endorsement that they have had for at least 2 years, or they have passed a motorcycle safety class.
A motorcyclist can also ride without wearing a helmet if they have the right insurance coverage that will pay at least $20,000 in medical costs for the operator and for the passenger. If the operator does not have insurance that covers the passenger, the passenger must have their own.
A passenger on a motorcycle does not have to wear a motorcycle helmet if they are at least 21 years old. They can also ride without a helmet if they have the right insurance coverage that will pay at least $20,000 in medical costs. Alternatively, the operator of the motorcycle can have insurance coverage that will pay at least $20,000 in medical costs for themselves and the passenger.
Failure to wear a helmet when you should do will mean you are in violation of the helmet law, and it’s likely you will receive a civil infraction. However, if you are involved in a traffic accident while you were not wearing a helmet any personal injury lawsuit you bring about may not go according to plan. This is because the state of Michigan could find that you were negligent because you failed to wear a helmet. Your negligence will affect any compensation you are seeking, especially if you would like compensation for head injuries that were sustained in the accident.
This is because the court will reduce the amount of compensation you receive according to how much blame you should take responsibility for. For example, if you were injured in the accident, the court could decide you were 20% to blame for your injuries. Therefore, you will lose 20% of your compensation, even if you were not to blame for the accident. You will lose a percentage of your compensation as you should have been wearing a helmet.
If you are currently suffering from a personal injury and are unable to read ‘Michigan’s Motorcycle Helmet Law’ please watch our Injury Pedia video so you can gain the Personal Injury Information and Answers you are seeking.