In Maine, only a few of those who are operating or traveling as a passenger need to wear a motorcycle helmet.
Section 29-2083 of Maine’s Revised Statutes says that you need to wear a motorcycle helmet if you are less than 18 years old and you’re operating a motorcycle. In addition to this, if you are traveling as a passenger and you’re less than 18 years old you need to wear a helmet. Anyone who has a learner’s permit or has completed their driving test less than a year ago is required to wear a helmet.
Finally, if you are traveling on a motorcycle as a passenger and the operator of the motorcycle has to wear a helmet, you do too.
If you fail to wear a motorcycle helmet, whether you are operating the motorcycle or you’re traveling as a passenger on one, you could receive a traffic infraction.
If you fail to wear a helmet and you are involved in a traffic accident, any compensation that you would have received in a personal injury case would be reduced. This is because a jury is likely to decide that the lack of helmet contributed or caused any injuries you sustained. This is likely to be the case even in the driver of another vehicle is at-fault for the accident.
If you are currently suffering from a personal injury and are unable to read ‘Maine’s Motorcycle Helmet Law’ please watch our Injury Pedia video so you can gain the Personal Injury Information and Answers you are seeking.