In Kansas, only those under 18 years of age are required by law to wear a motorcycle helmet. More specifically, the law says that no-one under 18 years of age can operate or ride as a passenger on a motorcycle without wearing a helmet. This helmet must comply with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s minimum guidelines.
If you have any queries about this law, you may want to think about reading the Kansas Motorcycle Operator Manual that can be found at the Kansas Department of Revenue.
Now let’s imagine you are involved in a motorcycle accident and you were not wearing a helmet. You assume that because you were not the at-fault driver you will receive a good amount of compensation. However, Kansas uses a comparative fault rule in most personal injury cases which dictates that the injured party is partly responsible for their injuries.
The comparative fault rule basically means that even if you are over 18 years of age and you do not have to legally wear a motorcycle helmet, you could still be found partly responsible. This ultimately means that if you were found 30% responsible for your injuries you will receive 30% less compensation.
If you are currently suffering from a personal injury and are unable to read ‘Kansas’ Motorcycle Helmet Law’ please watch our Injury Pedia video so you can gain the Personal Injury Information and Answers you are seeking.