Had a Car Accident? How Long Do You Have to File a Claim?

If you have been involved in a car accident you should be aware that you have a specific and limited period of time to file your personal injury lawsuit. The amount of time you have to file your claim has been set by the statute of limitations. Every single state has its own statute and some are as short as a year, whereas others are up to 10 years. However, most states offer 2 to 3 years after an accident.

If you fail to make your claim within the set time limit your case will be thrown out of court. This means you will not receive any compensation for any injuries or losses that occurred as a result of the car accident. This is why it is vital that you file your claim within the time limit.
You should also be aware of these time limits when you are dealing with an insurance company. This is because the claims process can take some time. You should ideally get the ball rolling as soon as you can so that you have enough time to file a claim in court should you need to.

Have you been Injured ?

HAVE YOU BEEN INJURED ?

  • Car Accidents
  • Step 2

Get the Help You Deserve Free Injury Pedia's Fast Consultation Service

What is the primary type of injury?

How long ago did the incident occur ?

Was a police report filed?

Where do you need an Accident Attorney?

Briefly describe your case.

Step 2

First name

Last Name

Email

Phone Number

Please take a look at the table below for more information about how much time you have to file your claim after the accident.

State             Time  Limitation in Years

  • Alabama       2
  • Alaska          2
  • Arizona        2
  • Arkansas      3
  • California     2
  • Colorado      2
  • Connecticut  3
  • Delaware      2
  • DC               3
  • Florida         4
  • Georgia        2
  • Hawaii         2
  • Idaho           2
  • Illinois         2
  • Indiana        2
  • Iowa            2
  • Kansas        2
  • Kentucky    1
  • Louisiana    1
  • Maine         6
  • Maryland    3
  • Massachusetts 3
  • Michigan    3
  • Minnesota   6
  • Mississippi  3
  • Missouri      5
  • Montana     3
  • Nebraska    4
  • Nevada      2
  • New Hampshire 3
  • New Jersey 2
  • New Mexico 3
  • New York  3
  • N. Carolina 3
  • N. Dakota 6 years; 2 years for wrongful death
  • Ohio          2
  • Oklahoma  2
  • Oregon      10
  • Pennsylvania 2
  • Rhode Island 3
  • S. Carolina 3
  • S. Dakota   3
  • Tennessee   1
  • Texas          2
  • Utah           4
  • Vermont     3
  • Virginia      2
  • Washington 3
  • West Virginia 2
  • Wisconsin  3
  • Wyoming

If you are currently suffering from a personal injury and are unable to read ‘Had a Car Accident? How Long Do You Have to File a Claim?’ please watch our Injury Pedia video so you can gain the Personal Injury Information and Answers you are seeking.

2018-12-11T12:42:28+00:00By : b6njx | Category : Car Accident Personal Injury